Dr. Nora Volkow to Give Commencement Address at Albert Einstein College of Medicine Graduation

May 9, 2007 - (BRONX, NY) - This year's commencement of the Albert Einstein College of Medicine of Yeshiva University will be held at Lincoln Center's Avery Fisher Hall on Wednesday, June 6th at 6:00 p.m. Dr. Nora Volkow, director of the National Institute for Drug Abuse, will deliver the commencement address.

Dr. Allen M. Spiegel, the Marilyn and Stanley M. Katz Dean at Einstein, will preside at the ceremonies, Einstein's 49th annual commencement, joined by Yeshiva University President, Richard M. Joel, who will confer 156 M.D. degrees, 43 Ph.D.s and 10 combined M.D.-Ph.D. degrees.

Einstein also will present Dr. Jay Berzofsky, classes of 1971(Ph.D.) and 1973 (M.D.), chief of the Vaccine Branch at the National Cancer Institute's Center for Cancer Research, its Dominick P. Purpura Distinguished Alumnus Award for 2007. In addition, Dr. Irwin R. Merkatz, chair and Safra professor of obstetrics and gynecology & women's health at Einstein, will be cited as honorary alumnus; Dr. Fred Rosner, class of 1959, professor of medicine at the Mount Sinai School of Medicine will receive the Alumni Association's Lifetime Achievement Award; and Dr. Robert Marion, class of 1979, Gottesman chair of developmental pediatrics and director of the Children's Evaluation & Rehabilitation Center at Einstein, will receive the Alumni Association's Lifetime Service Award. The 2007 commencement will also mark the introduction of a new alumni award, the Distinguished Ph.D. Alumna Award, whose inaugural recipient will be Dr. Joan Heller Brown, class of 1974, professor and chair of pharmacology at University of California, San Diego.

The graduation ceremony will also honor the teaching excellence of six Einstein faculty members, as follows:

  • The Leo Davidoff Society Lifetime Achievement Award in Education: Dr. Irwin R. Merkatz (Safra Professor and University Chair of Obstetrics & Gynecology and Women's Health)

  • Harry Eagle Award for Outstanding Basic Science Teaching: Dr. David J. Prezant (Professor of Medicine/Pulmonary Medicine; Instructor in Physiology & Biophysics)

  • Harry Gordon Award for Outstanding Clinical Teaching: Dr. Lisa Rucker (Associate Professor of Clinical Medicine)

  • Samuel Rosen Award for Outstanding Teaching in the Preclinical Curriculum: Dr. Sherry A. Downie (Associate Professor of Clinical Anatomy & Structural Biology)

  • Samuel Rosen Award for Outstanding Teaching in the Clinical Curriculum: Dr. Shefali Ram Pathy (Instructor in Clinical Obstetrics & Gynecology and Women's Health)

  • Ladonne H. Schulman Award for Excellence in Teaching (Sue Golden Graduate Division): Dr. Kamran Khodakhah (Associate Professor of Neuroscience)