Humanist Doctors of Tomorrow Honored Today

Members of the class of 2015 following their induction into the Gold Humanism Honor Society
Members of the class of 2015 following their induction into the Gold Humanism Honor Society

Each year, Einstein’s Gold Humanism Honor Society (GHHS) chapter recognizes individuals who have been nominated by their peers for their devotion to patient care with induction into the GHHS Honor Society. This year, 23 fourth-year medical students received this special distinction at the 2014 GHHS annual induction ceremony, held in Robbins Auditorium.

This year’s student inductees were: Paul Bailey, Fay Burekhovich, Justin Chen, Wayne Cohen-Levy, Jose Diaz, Daphne Mercer Elivert, Xiao Han, Laura Hawks, Jo Henderson-Frost, Suzanna Hirsch, Sunna Jo, Christina Jung, Ravi Kesari, Wanda Lam, John Lee, Yehuda Lerea, Christopher Lin-Brande, Richard Maiman, Stephen Marsh, Paul M. Opare-Addo, Kevin O’Laughlin, Hannah Rosenblum and William Sokoloff. The class of 2015 also includes three inductees from the previous year: Ross Kristal, Mariya Masyukova and Chelsea McGuire. In addition, Dr. Miriam Schechter, assistant professor of pediatrics, was honored as a faculty inductee and presented with the prestigious Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award.

More than 60 members of the Einstein community attended the ceremony, welcomed by chapter co-directors Dr. Staci Pollack, associate professor of clinical obstetrics and gynecology & women’s health, and Mimi McEvoy, associate professor of clinical family & social medicine and assistant professor of pediatrics. Dr. Schechter then delivered the keynote address.

The GHHS is sponsored by the Arnold P. Gold Foundation, an international organization dedicated to promoting humanism in medicine. More than 100 medical schools host GHHS chapters.


Around Campus Archive

< Previous | Next >