Department of Microbiology & Immunology

Faculty (Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus)

Stephen Baum, M.D.
Professor
stephen.baum@einstein.yu.edu

Senior Associate Dean for Students

Joan Berman, Ph.D.
Professor
joan.berman@einstein.yu.edu

Mechanisms of NeuroAIDS: HIV associated neurocognitive disorders; HIV/host interactions; leukocyte transmigration across the blood-brain barrier

C. Fred Brewer, Ph.D.
Professor
fred.brewer@einstein.yu.edu

Biochemical and biophysical analysis of lectin binding

 

Robert Burk, M.D.
Professor
robert.burk@einstein.yu.edu

Papillomavirus pathogenesis and evolution; monkey model of papillomavirus cervical carcinogenesis; genetic basis of excessive sweating (hyperhidrosis); inherited contribution to prostate cancer

Arturo Casadevall, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor and Chair
arturo.casadevall@einstein.yu.edu

Cryptococcus neoformans pathogenesis and immunity; antibody-mediated immunity; anthrax and Bacillus anthracis; immunoglobulin structure-function

John Chan, M.D.
Professor
john.chan@einstein.yu.edu

Pathogenesis of TB; tuberculous granuloma; TB latency and reactivation; development of TB vaccines

 

Kartik Chandran, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
kartik.chandran@einstein.yu.edu

Ebola and Marburg virus entry into cells; structure and function of viral fusion glycoproteins; virus-host interactions; viral genetics; antivirals

Ekaterina Dadachova, Ph.D.
Professor
ekaterina.dadachova@einstein.yu.edu

Radioimmunotherapy of melanoma and viral cancers; radioimmunotherapy of infectious diseases; melanin as a radioprotector and energy transducer

Luciano D'Adamio, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor
luciano.dadamio@einstein.yu.edu

Molecular mechanisms of neurodegeneration, memory loss, and aging in animal models

 

Johanna Daily, M.D.
Associate Professor
johanna.daily@einstein.yu.edu

Plasmodium falciparum; novel in vivo parasite biology; virulence determinants; host response to malaria infection

Felipe Diaz-Griffero, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
felipe.diaz-griffero@einstein.yu.edu

Biochemistry of HIV-1 uncoating; innate immunity against HIV-1 and other retroviruses; mechanistic studies onretroviral restriction factors

Teresa DiLorenzo, Ph.D.
Professor
teresa.dilorenzo@einstein.yu.edu

Immunopathogenesis of type 1 diabetes; autoimmunity; humanized mouse models; T cells; immunology

 

Marta Feldmesser, M.D.
Associate Professor
marta.feldmesser@einstein.yu.edu

Aspergillus pathogenesis, host response, diagnostics; fungal asthma; aflatoxin

David Fooksman, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
david.fooksman@einstein.yu.edu

In vivo plasma cell differentiation, migration, and physiology; multiple myeloma; Intra-vital multi-photon imaging

Nikolaos Frangogiannis, M.D.
Professor
nikolaos.frangogiannis@einstein.yu.edu

Myocardial inflammation and repair, cardiac fibrosis, chemokines, TGF-beta signaling, matricellular proteins

 

Victoria Freedman, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
victoria.freedman@einstein.yu.edu

Associate Dean for Graduate Programs in the Biologic Sciences

Bettina Fries, M.D.
Professor
bettina.fries@einstein.yu.edu

Cryptococcal disease; antibody neutralization of Staphylococcal enterotoxin B-mediated shock

David Goldman, M.D.
Associate Professor
david.goldman@einstein.yu.edu

Fungal pathogenesis; Cryptococcus neoformans; asthma; anthrax

 

Harris Goldstein, M.D.
Professor
harris.goldstein@einstein.yu.edu

HIV pathogenesis; TCR structure-function analysis; genetic programming of specific protective immune responses; genetic manipulation of transplanted beta cells to resist rejection

Claudia Gravekamp, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
claudia.gravekamp@einstein.yu.edu

Listeria monocytogenes; metastatic breast cancer; tumor immunology; Listeria-based cancer vaccines

John Hardin, M.D.
Professor
john.hardin@einstein.yu.edu

Systemic lupus erythematosus; autoantibodies

 

Larry Herbst, D.V.M., Ph.D.
Professor
larry.herbst@einstein.yu.edu

Animal models of infectious disease; effects of adventitious infections on research; novel transforming viruses

Betsy Herold, M.D.
Professor
betsy.herold@einstein.yu.edu

Herpes simplex virus (HSV) infection; synergy between HSV and HIV; microbicide development; genital tract mucosal immunity

William Jacobs, Jr., Ph.D.
Professor
william.jacobs@einstein.yu.edu

Mycobacterium tuberculosis genetics; mycobacteriophages; extensively drug resistant tuberculosis (XDR-TB); tuberculosis vaccines; mechanism of isoniazid action

 

Ganjam Kalpana, Ph.D.
Professor
ganjam.kalpana@einstein.yu.edu

HIV-1 host-virus interaction; rhabdoid tumors biology; INI1/hSNF5 tumor suppressor mechanisms; novel therapeutic strategies for rhabdoid tumors

Libusha Kelly, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
libusha.kelly@einstein.yu.edu

We study how ecosystem-level genetic variability influences adaptive responses to dynamic environments.

Kami Kim, M.D.
Professor
kami.kim@einstein.yu.edu

Molecular pathogenesis of infections caused by Toxoplasma gondii and Plasmodium falciparum

 

Grégoire Lauvau, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
gregoire.lauvau@einstein.yu.edu

Protective immunological memory; antimicrobial immunity in vivo; effector functions; microbial pathogenesis

Jack Lenz, Ph.D.
Professor
jack.lenz@einstein.yu.edu

Molecular genetics of retroviral diseases

Thomas Leyh, Ph.D.
Professor
leyh@aecom.yu.edu

Mechanisms of sulfate activation in Escherichia coli and Mycobacterium tuberculosis

 

Joshua Nosanchuk, M.D.
Professor
josh.nosanchuk@einstein.yu.edu

Fungal pathogenesis; histoplasmosis; lipid biology in Candida; antimicrobial therapeutics

Deborah Palliser, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
deborah.palliser@einstein.yu.edu

Delivery and mechanism of RNA interference (RNAi); use of RNAi to block STD transmission; mechanism of viral immunity, in particular HSV-2

Liise-anne Pirofski, M.D.
Professor
pirofski@einstein.yu.edu

Immunity to encapsulated pathogens; antibody immunity; vaccine development

 

Steven Porcelli, M.D.
Professor
steven.porcelli@einstein.yu.edu

Immunity to Mycobacterium tuberculosis; immune evasion by mycobacteria; human and mouse Natural Killer T cells; lipid antigen presentation by CD1

Vinayaka Prasad, Ph.D.
Professor
vinayaka.prasad@einstein.yu.edu

HIV-1 reverse transcriptase; aptamer therapeutics for HIV/AIDS; viral determinants of HIV-associated dementia

Chaim Putterman, M.D.
Professor
chaim.putterman@einstein.yu.edu

Systemic lupus erythematosus; lupus nephritis; anti-DNA antibodies; autoimmunity

 

Charles Rogler, Ph.D.
Professor
charles.rogler@einstein.yu.edu

MicroRNA mechanisms; hepatitis B virus pathogenesis; TGF-beta signaling; stem cell differentiation

David Rosenstreich, M.D.
Professor
david.rosenstreich@einstein.yu.edu

Chronic urticaria treatment; asthma epidemiology; chronic sinusitis epidemiology; immunological effects of mercury

Arye Rubinstein, M.D.
Professor
arye.rubinstein@einstein.yu.edu

Common variable immunodeficiency; primary immunodeficiency; HIV infection

 

Laura Santambrogio, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor
laura.santambrogio@einstein.yu.edu

Dendritic cell immunobiology; antigen processing and presentation; endosomal compartments

Andrew Yates, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
andrew.yates@einstein.yu.edu

T-cell dynamics; mathematical and computational modeling; immunology and the ecology of host-pathogen interactions

Xingxing Zang, M.Med., Ph.D.
Associate Professor
xing-xing.zang@einstein.yu.edu

T cell costimulation and coinhibition; cancer; autoimmune diseases; infection

 
Click here to log in