Primary Care & Social Internal Medicine Residency

Primary Care & Social Internal Medicine Program Faculty

"I feel the faculty is committed to my development as a physician and leader, and to providing the highest level of care to underserved populations."

Minesh Shah, Program Graduate
Clinical Educator, University of Illinois Medical Center

The core faculty for the Primary Care/Social Internal Medicine Program serves as core teachers in the Department of Medicine. All have developed careers in medical education and are dedicated to underserved communities.

The diversity of faculty interests serves to enrich the program’s innovative curriculum. Our faculty has expertise in clinical epidemiology, clinical reasoning, evidence-based medicine, screening and prevention, behavioral and psychosocial medicine, global health, human rights, women’s health, musculoskeletal medicine, community-oriented primary care, liberation medicine, physical diagnosis, addiction medicine, HIV and pain medicine.

All faculty members act as clinical preceptors, with the ratio of residents to full-time preceptors in clinic less than 4:1.

Program Leadership

Erin J. Goss, MD, AAHIVS
Program Co-Director


Shwetha V. Iyer, MD
Program Co-Director


Joseph Deluca, MD 


Lauren Shapiro, MD 


Clinician Educators


Robert Beil, MD, AAHIVS 


Sabrina Esbitt, PhD  


Mary Gover, MD


Sarah Mallik, MD  


Felise Milan, MD  


Deborah Swiderski, MD  


Global Health Faculty

Linnea Capps, MD, MPH 


Gloria Fung-Chaw, MD 


Noriyuki Murakami, MD  


Jerry Paccione, MD  


Amit R. Patel, MD, MPH 


Research Faculty

Marcus Bachhuber, MD  


Oni Blackstock, MD, MHS  


Chinazo Cunningham, MD, MS  


Aaron Fox, MD 


Shadi Nahvi, MD 


Brianna Norton, DO 


Viraj Patel, MD, MPH 


Hector Perez, MD 


Joanna Starrels, MD, MS  

Click here to log in