Department of Cell Biology


Research in the Department of Cell Biology is focused on understanding molecular mechanisms of gene regulation in eukaryotic cells. Using mammalian cells, yeast, viruses, fruit flies and transgenic mice, we are investigating mechanisms of DNA replication and repair, control of the cell cycle and apoptosis, roles for transcriptional regulation and chromatin structure in gene expression, RNA processing, intracellular trafficking, membrane fusion and budding, mechanisms of generating antibody diversity, and the functions of cell surface sugars. 

In the News


Inaugural Honoree — The American Association of Immunologists (AAI) has selected Dr. Matthew Scharff as the first-ever recipient of its inaugural 2015 AAI-BioLegend Herzenberg Award, which he will receive this spring during a special session at IMMUNOLOGY2015™. The honor recognizes an individual who has made exemplary research contributions to the field of B cell biology. Dr. Scharff is world-renowned as a pioneer in the development and application of monoclonal antibodies, which have become a cornerstone in biomedical research. He is distinguished professor of Cell Biology and of Medicine, as well as the Harry Eagle Chair in Cancer Research/National Women's Division and faculty supervisor of the Hybridoma and Tissue Culture Facility. The AAI-BioLegend Herzenberg Award was established, with support from BioLegend to honor the memory of AAI member Dr. Leonard A. Herzenberg.


Congratulations to Dr. Travis Bernardo and Dr. Barnali Biswas for winning Postdoctoral Fellowship awards!


Dr. Travis Bernardo, a Postdoctoral Fellow in the Skoultchi lab, is the recipient of a Ruth L. Kirschstein NRSA F32 Fellowship from the NIH.


Dr. Barnali Biswas, a Postdoctoral Fellow in the Stanley lab, is the recipient of a Postdoctoral Fellowship from The Lalor Foundation.



On 5/6/2015, Dr. Pamela Stanley gave a lecture in the NIH Director's Wednesday Afternoon Lecture Series (WALS), which is the highest-profile lecture program at the NIH. Her lecture was entitled “ Glycans that regulate development and notch signaling”.



Dr. Barbara Birshtein has been selected as this year’s recipient of the LaDonne H. Shulman Award for Excellence in Teaching. The recipient of this award is nominated and selected by the graduate students as a faculty member who has demonstrated exemplary skill in teaching and mentoring.
Of special note: This is the second time that Barbara has received this award!
Congratulations to Barbara on this very appropriate recognition of her dedication and teaching and mentoring skills by the graduate students.


Election to fellow is an honor bestowed upon American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) members by their peers. In 2014, 401 AAAS members were awarded this honor because of their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications. Among the six AECOM faculty members who received this distinction, three are members of the Department of Cell Biology.


Margaret Kielian, Ph.D. – Elected for distinguished contributions to the field of virology, particularly for studies on the alphavirus and flavivirus membrane fusion proteins and on virus entry and exit. Dr. Kielian is Professor of Cell Biology and Samuel H. Golding Chair in Microbiology.


Richard Kitsis, M.D. – Elected for distinguished contributions to fundamental and translational aspects of cell death, particularly for originating and driving the field of cell death in the heart. Dr. Kitsis is Professor of Medicine and of Cell Biology, the Dr. Gerald and Myra Dorros Chair in Cardiovascular Disease and Director of the Wilf Family Cardiovascular Research Institute at Einstein and attending physician, cardiology at Montefiore Medical Center.


Robert Singer, Ph.D. – Elected for distinguished contributions to the development and application of imaging technologies and insights into the kinetics and spatial distributions of single mRNAs in living cells. Dr. Singer is Professor and Co-Chair of Anatomy & Structural Biology, Professor of Neuroscience and of Cell Biology, Co-Director of the Gruss Lipper Biophotonics Center and of the Integrated Imaging Program, and the Harold and Muriel Block Chair in Anatomy & Structural Biology.


[read more]

New Publications

From the Stanley Lab - Wang W, Yu S, Zimmerman G, Wang Y, Myers J, Yu VW, Huang D, Huang X, Shim J, Huang Y, Xin W, Qiao P, Yan M, Xin W, Scadden DT, Stanley P, Lowe JB, Huang AY, Siebel CW, Zhou L. Notch Receptor-Ligand Engagement Maintains Hematopoietic Stem Cell Quiescence and Niche Retention. Stem Cells. 2015 Apr 7. doi: 10.1002/stem.2031.
• The paper shows that Notch ligands function as adhesion molecules in retention and quiescence of HSC in the stem cell niche via O-fucose glycans on Notch receptors and independent of Notch signaling.

From the Kielian labs - Ooi Y, Dubé M, Kielian M. BST2/Tetherin Inhibition of Alphavirus Exit. Viruses 2015, 7(4), 2147-2167; doi:10.3390/v7042147.
• In spite of their highly organized structure, we demonstrate that release of alphaviruses is blocked by the interferon-induced protein tetherin.

From the Schildkraut Lab - Simone G. Calderano, William C. Drosopoulos, Marina M. Quaresma, Catarina A. Marques, Settapong Kosiyatrakul, Richard McCulloch, Carl L. Schildkraut, Maria Carolina Elias. Single molecule analysis of Trypanosoma brucei DNA replication dynamics. Nucleic Acids Research 2015 Mar 11,43:5.
• This study presents a global analysis of the DNA replication in Trypanosoma brucei, establishing for the first time, replication fork rates of both bloodstream and procyclic forms of the organism and provides the first evidence of the presence of dormant replication origins in the T. brucei genome.

From the Skoultchi and Fyodorov Labs - Kavi H, Lu X, Xu N, Bartholdy BA, Vershilova E, Skoultchi AI, Fyodorov DV.A Genetic Screen and Transcript Profiling Reveal a Shared Regulatory Program for Drosophila Linker Histone H1 and Chromatin Remodeler CHD1. G3 (Bethesda). 2015 Jan 27. pii: g3.115.016709. doi: 10.1534/g3.115.016709.
• This study describes a genetic screen that identifies 61 enhancers and suppressors of the Drosophila histone H1 gene His1, including a mis-expression allele of Chd1 that encodes a chromatin remodeling enzyme CHD1.

From the Scharff Lab - Lirong Wei, Richard Chahwan, Shanzhi Wang, Xiaohua Wang, Phuong T. Pham, Myron F. Goodman, Aviv Bergman, Matthew D. Scharff and Thomas MacCarthy. Overlapping hotspots in CDRs are critical sites for V region diversification. Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A. 2015 Feb 2. pii: 201500788. [Epub ahead of print]. PMID: 25646473
• Overlapping hotspot motifs allow AID to focus the hypermutation of antibody genes on sites required to create high affinity broadly cross neutralizing antibodies.


Departmental Office

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Chanin Building, Room 405
New York, New York 10461

Telephone : 718.430.2815
Fax : 718.430.8574
Email : 



Upcoming Events

Friday, 06/05/15
John Christin
Mentor: Dr. Guo

Friday, 06/12/15
Michael Willcockson
Mentor: Dr. Skoultchi


Journal Club
Wednesday, 05/20/15
Stephen Braigen
Kelly Mitchell

Mentor: Dr. Query / Dr. Steidl

Wednesday, 06/10/15
Jiaohao Chen
Judy Wan

Mentor: Dr. Steidl / Dr. Kielian


Outside Speaker
Wednesday, 05/20/15
Fifth Floor Lecture Hall
Mortimer Poncz, M.D.
Host: Dr. Frenette


Friday Get Together

Friday, 06/19/15
Host: The Query Lab and
The Stanley Lab

Complete Event Listing 

Click here to log in